4 Years

It’s been 4 years since one of the hardest moments of my life took place. Some say “bravest”, but I don’t know about that. I wasn’t being “brave”. I was being selfish. I wanted to do something that would save my own life, so I didn’t have to endure what I’ve seen so many before me go through. It was my choice. MY choice to lower my risks.

Interesting what we can choose to do with our own bodies these days, isn’t it!?

I think we should save the word “brave” for those who HAD to go through it. Who HAD to live in fear of what tomorrow would bring. Who HAD to be in the most excruciating pain they’ve ever experience and not by any choice they made. Who HAD to spent countless hours in chemo and/or radiation to try and fight what their body could not. YOU, my dear, are the brave one, and I adore you.

It’s been 4 years since the start of my 2 year surgery journey. 4 years since I said goodbye to a part of me that I’ve had my whole life. Good thing I’ve gotten to be a pro at Goodbyes. They still hurt, but you get used to the pain.

For those who are tired of hearing of this journey, as Michelle Branch says, “Goodbye to you”. I won’t stop talking about it. If it helps ONE person, I will continue until the day I die-which could be the Story of the Year! My music references are on point today. IYKYK.

For those who are new to this Journey. Welcome. Take a seat, because a Journey it truly has been. My blog posts are in numerical order from day 1. You will get everything you need to know from them.

Short version. Today is my 4 YEAR Anniversary of my Prophylactic Double Mastectomy. My first major surgery of my entire life and I surely went out with a bang. I would do it all over again. I’ve never once regretted it. Have I loved my body since having it?! I’m getting there, but no. The past 4 years have been a huge self love journey, or might I say, a voyage into the unknown, but we see sunshine, in the dark cloudy days now. What a blessing that is.

As far as an update goes, I am feeling great. I sometimes see or feel the scars and I hate them. Sometimes they remind me of the reason I have them and I love them. Sometimes I can do push-ups and feel fine, and sometimes the feeling/sensation is too much and I can’t stand it. Sometimes I can sleep on my stomach, sometimes it hurts, not only my foobs, but my back! Sometimes I look in the mirror and love them, because they saved me. Sometimes I wish they weren’t there. It’s a constant battle. A small price to pay.

The BRCA Gene mutation can raise a woman’s risk of Breast, Ovarian, Cervical, and melanoma cancers drastically. In men, it can do the same for breast, prostate, and pancreatic cancer, and melanoma. If there’s the slightest chance you are questioning it, if anyone in your blood related family have had any of these cancers, you CAN get tested, and you CAN see if you’re a mutant like me. It’s as simple as waking up and spitting in a test tube and throwing it in the mail. There are so many preventative options available now.

Until next time,

Kyrie T

Leave a comment